Details of Bogra District

Background: Bogra is a northern district of the Rajshahi Division of Bangladesh. It is called the gateway to the north Bengal. Bogra district was a part of the ancient Pundravardhana territory and was the capital of ‘Pundravardhana’. Bogra is famous for its historical values with Pundravardhana as former capital, which is now known as ‘Mahasthangarh’. It is generally believed that the district was named after the name of Sultan Mohammad Nasiruddin Bughra Khan who was an independent Ruler of Bengal during 1279 - 1282 A.D. The then greater Bogra was became a zila in 1821. The present Bogra district was carved out from Bogra Sadar Sub-division in 1983.

Geographic Area and location: Bogra is bounded on the north south by Gaibandha and Jaypurhat districts, on the east by Jamalpur and Sirajganj districts, on the south by Sirajganj and Natore districts and on the west by Naogaon and Jaipurhat districts. Bogra district lies between 24° 32' and 25° 07' north latitudes and between 88° 58' and 88° 95' east longitudes.The total area of the district is 2898.68 sq km.

Temperature and Rainfall: The annual average temperature of the district varies from maximum 34.6°C to minimum 11.9°C and the average annual rainfall of the district is recorded 1610 mm.

Adminstritration: The greater Bogra district was established in 1821 consisting of 9 thanas, of which four from Rajshahi district (Adamdighi, Bogra, Sherpur, Nawkhila), three from Dinajpur district (Lalbazar, Badalgachhi, Khetlal) and two from Rangpur district (Gobindaganj, Dewanganj). In 1983, Bogra district was divided into two districts (Bogra and Joypurhat). Bogra district consists of 12 upazilas, 108 unions, 1672 mauzas, 2618 villages, 11 paurashavas, 111 wards and 360 mahallas. The upazilas are Adamdighi, Bogra Sadar, Dhunat, Dhupchanchia, Gabtali, Kahaloo, Nandigram, Sariakandi, Shajahanpur, SherpurShibganj and Sonatola.

Township: Bogra municipality was established in 1884. It was renamed as Bogra Paurashava in 1977. It consists of 21 wards and 111 mahallas. The total area of the Paurashava is 68.63 sq. km. Bogra is known as the industrial city of the North Bengal. Constructions of the Bangabandhu Jamuna Multipurpose Bridge enhanced all kinds of trade and commerce in Bogra. The town is also famous for its cultural activities.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: Among the archaeological heritages, Kherua Mosque at Sherpur, remnants of the historical Mahasthangarh, Bara Masjid, Mazar (tomb) of Shah Sultan Balkhi, Gokul Medh, Parshuram's Palace and Vasu Vihara are the notable.

Historical Events: Mahasthangarh (Former Pundranagara), located 10 km. to the north of Bogra town, was the capital of Pundravardhana. During the 4th to 8th century BC, this region was ruled by various dynasties. From the middle of 8th century it went under Pala rule that continued till 12th century. Sena King Vijayasena conquered the region defeating the last Pala King Madanpala. Bogra came under the Muslim rule after Bakhtiyar Khalji conquered Nadia. In 1281-1290 AD, Sultan Nasiruddin Bugra Khan, the second son of the emperor of Delhi Sultan Giyasuddin Balban became the ruler of Bengal. Bogra was named after him. The anti British Fakir-Sannyasi movement spread over Bogra region since the early British rule. The Indigo Rebellion spread over Bogra in mid 19th century.

Marks of the War of Liberation: Mass graves at Sonatola and Dhunat upazilas, memorial monument at Kahaloo High School compound, Adamdighi Burning Ghat and Dhunat which bear the testimony of the War of Liberation in Bogra district.

Population and other characteristics: According to the Population Census 2011, total population of this district is 34,00,874. Out of total population male is 17,08,806 and female is 16,92,068. Total household of this district 8,67,137. Density of population is 1173(per Literacy rate for both sex is 49.4%, male is 52.9% and female is 45.9%.

Main crops: Aush, Aman, Boro Paddy, Jute, Wheat, Potato, Mustard, Pepper, Vegetables, Banana, Sugarcane and Betel leaf are the main crops of this district.

Main Rivers: The principal rivers of the district are Karatoya, Nagar, Bangali and Ichamari.

Main Fruits: Mango, jackfruit, guava, blackberry, custard apple, Indian palm, papaya, pineapple, banana, coconut, wood apple, litchi, jackfruit, palm, tamarind, lemon, betel nut are main fruits of this district.

Economic Situation: Agriculture and livestock sectors play a vital role in the economy of this district. Of the total 7,91,343 holdings of the district 57.26 % holdings are farms that produce varieties of crops, namely local HYV paddy, jute, sugarcane, wheat, tobacco vegetables, pulses and others cash crops and minor cereals. Various types of fruits like mango, jack fruit, guava, litchis etc. are grown in the district. Bovine animals, goat, sheep and poultry rearing generate an additional income to the rural people. Pisciculture and fish catching has also some share in the rural economy of the district. Besides farming activities, non-farm economic activities also provide some economic benefits to the households.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies).

You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.