Details of Barisal District

Background, Geographic Area and Location: Barisal district was estalished in 1797. Previously it was known as ‘Bakerganj’. There is hearsay about the name of the Barisal district. It is generally believed that in the remote past this area was famous for big salt godown which was locally known as Barisalt’. Over the passage of time the name of the area was transformed into Barisal. The total area of the district is 2784.52 sq. km. of which 160.37 sq. km. is riverine. Barisal district is bounded by Madaripur, Shariatpur, Chandpur and Lakshmipur districts on the north, Patuakhali, Barguna and Jhalakathi districts on the south, Bhola and Lakshmipur districts on the east, Jhalakathi, Pirojpur and Gopalganj districts on the west. It lies between 22o27' and 22o52' north latitudes and between 90o01' and 90o43' east longitudes.

Historical Events: Barisal was a semi-independent area in Mughal period. In course of time, it fell under Bengal Nawabs and British India. After British rule it was part of East Pakistan and later Bangladesh. It was formerly known as Chandradip. The capital of this kingdom was at Bakla. The founder of the kingdom was Danuj Madhav or Danuj Mardhan Dev.

Annual Average Temperature: The maximum annual average temperature is 35.1°C, minimum 12.1°C; annual rainfall is 1955 mm. in 2011.

Noted Rivers: Kirtonkhola, Arialkhan, Lower Meghna, Katcha, Tetulia, Bhanga, Jayanti, Shwarupkathi and Amtali.

Administration: Barisal was declared a division on 1 January, 1993. The area of the town is 16.37 sq km. Barisal municipality was established in 1957 and was turned into a city corporation in 2000. The district consists of 10 upazilas, 85 unions, 1001 mauzas, 1116 villages, 5 paurashavas, 1 City Corporation. The upazilas are Agailjhara, Babuganj, Bakerganj, Banaripara, Barisal Sadar, Gauranadi, Hizla, MehendiganjMuladi and Uzirpur.

Among them Paurashavas are: Bakerganj, Banaripara, Gournadi, Mehendigani and Muladi.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: Rammohan Samadhi Mandir, Sujabad Kella, Sangram Kella, Sharkal Fort, Girja Mahalla, Bangabandhu Uddan, Muktijoddha Park, Ebadullah Mosque, Kasai Mosque, Oxford Mission Church, Shankar Math, Kali Bari of Mukunda Das, Joint Mosque at Bhatikhana, Aswini Kumar Townhall, Charkella, Durgasagar Dighee, One domed Mosque (Kasba), Brass image of Manasa weighing three maunds (Char Bania Bari), Padda Pukur, Bibir Pukur, Ulania Jamidar Bari (Mehendiganj), Bara Auliar Majar (Bakerganj), Beptist Church, Cathalik Church, Saint Alfreed Church.

Marks of the War of Liberation: Mass killing site 5, Mass grave 6, Sculpture 2, Memorial 4.

Educational Institutions: University 1, Medical college 1, Government college 7, Cadet college 1, Polytechnic & Vocational institute 16, Physical education college 1, Teacher's Training college 2, Nursing institute 1, Non-government college 70, Government high school 2, Non-government high school 424, Junior school 33, Government primary school 951, Registered primary school 530, Madrasahs 237, Kawmi madrasahs 86 , Kindergarten 130, Music school 2.

Noted educational institutions: Sher-E-Bangla Medical College and Hospital, B.M. College, Oxford Mission High School, Barisal District School, Banaripara Union Institution, Pinglakathi Government Model Primary School, Bheduriarchar Government Primary School.

Religious Institutions: Mosque 5190, Eid-gah 467, temple 678, church 48, tomb 5.

Cultural Organizations: Club 1230, public library 12, cinema hall 13, theatre group 18, jatra party 2, circus party 4, literary society 6, woman's organisation 20, shilpakala academy 1, playground 934, Nazrul Academy 1.

Locally Published Newspapers and Periodicals: Ajker Barta, Motobad, Dainik Shahnama, Barisal Barta, Banglar Bone, Biplobi Bangla, Vorer Angikar, Dakhinanchal, Probashi, Ajkal Gram Samachar, Rupantar Sathi, Saikot Barta, Darpan, Dipanchal, Ajker Kantha, Ajker Barisal, Ajker Paribartan are the notable locally published newspapers.

Periodicals: Weekly Lokabani, Bakerganj Parikrama, Chirantan Bangla, Upakul, periodicals Paira, the River, Etibriti, Khadem, Chirantan Bangla, Upakul, Samachar, Gournadi Parikrama; extinct; Barisal Bartabaha (1870), Hitasadhini (1871), Banglar Ranjika (1873), Kashipur Nibasi (1881), Swadesh (1885), Bharat Hitoishi (1882), Barisal Hiroishi (1885), Bikash (1900), Sahayogi (1885), Praddip (1927), Tarun (1923), Pathik (1925), Bahumihir (1926), Protiva Tangim (1949), Parimal Bahini (1859) are the notable locally published periodicals.

Main Crops: Paddy, jute, oil seed, betel leaf, onion, sugarcane.

Main Fruits: Amra, coconut, mango, jackfuit, banana, litchi, betel nut, black berry, guava.

Traditional Transport: Palanquin, horse carriage, bullock cart, Gaina boat. These means of transport are either extinct or nearly extinct.

Manufacturing Industries: Pharmaceutical industry, biscuit factory, flourmill, oil mill, ice factory, rice mill, jute mill, textile mill.

Cottage Industries: Weaving, bamboo works, goldsmith, blacksmith, potteries, wood work, tailoring, welding, bidri.

Hats, Bazars and Fairs: Total number of hats and bazars are 381; fair 32, most noted of which are Aratdari Hat, Chawkbazar, Patar Hat, Ulania Hat, Lakhutia Bazar, Torki Bazar, Kasba Cattle Market, Shaheber Hat, Chawkbazar, Suryamonir Mela, Kodaldoa Baruni Mela.

Main Exports: Paddy, fish, shital pati, betel leaf, guava, coconut, betel nut and amra.

NGO Activities: Operationally important NGOs are BRAC, CARE, ASA, CARITAS, PROSHIKA, GRAMEEN BANK, BDS.

Health Centres: Medical college hospital 1, private hospital 7, private clinic 6, family welfare centre 37, satellite clinic 32. Clinic Diagnostic Private 81, upazila health complex 09, union health and family welfare centre 50, Subcentre 32.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Ok Decline